Alice’s Adventures in the Wonderland

Posted on Updated on

Author: Lewis Carroll

It’s really weird to write a review on this amazing classic of 1865. 150 years! This classic was written 150 (appx) years ago and still this book remains in the minds of many. It’s rare that someone hasn’t read this book in their childhood. I picked up this book mainly because I couldn’t remember the entire story exactly. The premise was clear but the rest of the characters seemed murky in my mind. Hence to refresh my memory, I decided to jump into this classic again. It was a very nostalgic experience because as I went through the chapters I remembered my cherished childhood, the colourful cartoons on TV based on this story and the million imaginations in my mind to have a magical wonderland for myself.

Let’s look at the basic plot of this book.

Alice, along with her older sister, is sitting by the river side feeling bored. Suddenly she sees a peculiar White Rabbit and decides to follow it. Her pursue leads her into a rabbit hole where she suddenly takes a long fall into a curious hall with many locked doors. She finds a bottle with a label “Drink Me” which she consumes, resulting in her shrinking very small. Eating a cake makes her become very huge. Helpless, she cries creating a grand flood. She then meets various characters in this strange land, each one stranger than the land. There is the Mouse, the always-grinning Cheshire Cat, Bill the Lizard, the Caterpillar, the mad Duchess, the March Hare, the Hatter, the Queen and King of Hearts, Gryphon, the Mock Turtle; every chapter has one of these characters meeting Alice. In addition to finding them strange, Alice struggles to communicate with them, resulting in either parties getting irritated, entertaining the readers. There is a courtroom scene at the end where Alice is called on for evidence. The proceedings are ridiculous and funny, and the Queen’s- “Off with her head”, “Off with his head” is contagious and hilarious.

If I look to review this book logically, then there is not a shred of logic in this story. It is pure fantasy and rich imagination. The characters grow on you and you might even identify yourself with some of them. They may not be humans as such, but their characterisation and feelings are so influential. Alice’s arguments with every character are so enjoyable. It’s not a big book compared to what we have nowadays. Yet, the literature is so powerful; the poetry is so deep, that I had to read certain portions twice or thrice to actually understand the inner meaning.

This book was followed by a sequel, “Through the looking glass and what Alice found there”, which was released in 1871. It’s a shame that I didn’t even know there was a second book until the movie based on the sequel released few months back.

Usually I end my review with recommending or not recommending the book. But this work is above all that. I am sure most of you would have read this story. If yes, read it again and feel the nostalgia. If no, please do read and enjoy the amazing Alice’s Wonderland.

4 thoughts on “Alice’s Adventures in the Wonderland

    guptasaab said:
    October 7, 2016 at 5:32 am

    You know, it’s so strange but I can barely remember reading this book. My most vivid collections of it are from the Disney version and I remember finding the story so weird and kinda creepy and sad. Always hated Alice and thought she was dumb hahahaha. But I think I’ll reread the book now. Your review is very nice and makes me want to reread!

    Like

      mypanoramicviewblog responded:
      October 7, 2016 at 5:47 am

      I felt all the characters were dumb. At one point I thought what nonsense was going on…and then I realised, dreams don’t make any sense…LOL

      Like

        guptasaab said:
        October 10, 2016 at 1:58 am

        LOL so in other words, I shouldn’t have high expectations when reading?!?

        Like

    mypanoramicviewblog responded:
    October 10, 2016 at 2:04 am

    Don’t expect it to have logic. It’s a mad wonderland…LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

